The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old July 29, 2002, 02:02 PM   #1
mrschmitt

Remington 870 Express Assembly/Disassembly

I just bought my first gun(shotgun or rifle) today. Although I have shot guns extensively in the past, I have never owned my own, and have never taken down guns. The assembly and disassembly of the 870 looks pretty simple, but being a beginner, I want to make sure that I don't do something that could damage the gun. The owner's manual has pretty good instructions on how to do everything, but my question to you guys and girls is: Are there any things that I should be careful of.... Are there any tricks to putting it together and taking it apart.... Am I just being too paranoid?
Any help or suggestions from other 870 owners would be greatly appreciated,
Thanks,
Matt
Old July 29, 2002, 02:38 PM   #2
bamf

It's gonna be tough to break anything on your 870. These are rugged guns will take some abuse. Field stripping them is just like the manual...just follow it.

Just remember, just like any gun you'll dissassemble, to make sure it is unloaded. Check once, check twice, then you'll never have a problem.

Congrats on a great choice!
Old July 29, 2002, 02:47 PM   #3
DML

Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they are not out to get you.

There isn't much you can do to hurt your 870. Just follow the instructions. The only thing I can think of that might cause some damage is to pull the trigger with the bolt forward and the barrel removed. On some guns the hammer can slip behind the ejector. If you don't notice it, you might bend or break the ejector when you try to pull the slide back.
Old July 29, 2002, 03:03 PM   #4
mrschmitt