The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old December 8, 2002, 11:25 AM   #1
Madison_Blue

Handgunning with Carpal Tunnel

Well, its' started. After working for fifteen years as carefully as I could in the IT industry the first symptoms of carpal tunnel syndrome have begun in earnest in BOTH my wrists (although a bit more in my shooting hand).

I've found over the past month or so that shooting my 6" Smith 686 for only a few full-house rounds is enough to start my fingers tingling and my wrists hurting. However so far shooting 9mm and .45 ACP is okay. It doesn't bode well for the future, though.

Is anyone else dealing with this situation? How do you cope? Any exercises, braces, loads, etc you need to use?
Old December 8, 2002, 12:22 PM   #2
Sisco

I've got no experience with your problem, though I have shot carp in a tunnel. Sorry about that.
Have you tried a wrist brace?
Old December 8, 2002, 12:31 PM   #3
capbuster

I have had some results with taking anti imflamatory medication such as aspirin,ect. on a daily basis and using a hand exercisor with either hand as I drive to work each morning. It is a hard pill to take but you may have to eventually consult your medical expert and see what your options are. Good luck!
Old December 8, 2002, 01:21 PM   #4
Dave T

I have it in both hands but the right (strong hand) was the worst. I never noticed it much when shooting but the repetive motions of reloading and cleaning handguns really bothered me.

I eventually had the sugery done on the right hand and it has eliminated the problem for the most part. The left has not gotten worse so I'm hoping that is a good sign.

I now shoot full bore 357 Magnums, 44 Special 7 Magnum and 45 Colt revolvers with no noticable difficulty. As with you, I never noticed it with my semiautos (mostly 45 ACP).

Good luck!
Old December 8, 2002, 01:27 PM   #5
pax