The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old June 6, 2006, 03:33 PM   #1
bobhwry

Any Thompson Contender fans??

I recently bought a Contender with a 15" barrel in .223. I love this gun!! It,s alot of fun to shoot and very accurate at 50 yards.Anyone have any experiece beyond 50?Also, when I first took it to the range to sight it in I was told that handguns that shoot rifle cartridges were not allowed on the pistol range bot no one could explain why.The only reason I could think of was the higher velocities would pose a higher risk of richocet??
I,d like to get another barrel. Any recommendations on the next caliber??
Thanks
Old June 6, 2006, 04:01 PM   #2
Phxdog

I have the exact setup that you describe. I also really enjoy the T/C.

As far as shooting at longer ranges, I have your barrel/frame combo at empty freon containers in the desert. Though I am by no means an expert marksman, at a measured 200 yards there was no problem hitting the bottle (about 3/4 the size of a propane tank) time after time. The gun will outshoot me any day of the week.

Additionally, I own a 10" barrel in 7mmTCU (wildcat round), a 12" .22lr & an 18" 45/70 (that one will get your attention with hot loads!).

My buddy used the 7/TCU to take an elk several years ago. I know, I know, that's a terrible choice for elk, but he hit it right behind the shoulder at about 80 yards. It ran about 30 yards and fell over as dead as Kelsey's n*ts, with NO meat damage. The other guy in his party was shooting a .338 Winchester mag., he missed his elk.

I have an Aimpoint Reddot scope on the 45/70, all others are just the standard T/C iron sights.

As far as recommendations on barrels, I guess that would depend on what you would like to accomplish. Plinking? Hunting? Long range target? Ultra accuracy or just big boomers?
Old June 6, 2006, 04:15 PM   #3
ocabj