The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 18, 2024, 05:05 PM   #1
Starter

Overpressure

Hello,
I’m new to reloading and I need some advice.
I use Berrys Bullets, 9mm, 115 grain, round nose double strike, .356 with Accurate #2 powder. The Accurate #2 load data indicated a range of 4.2 - 4.7.
Both casings in photo were loaded with 4.2 grains.
I have been informed the casing with the ripple or crater appearance indicates an overpressure and I should reduce the load.
I have used both 4.2 and 4.3 grains in both my Glock 26 and Beretta 92FS.
Never had any jamming and accuracy seemed very good.
Two questions: Am I “overloading” causing an overpressure?
Should I use Lead Cast Round nose Data which indicates 3.9-4.4 grains?
Thank you very much in advance for considering my lengthy question.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg IMG_2675.jpeg (547.1 KB, 157 views)
Old March 18, 2024, 05:46 PM   #2
mehavey

If you're talking about the upper picture, was that perchance from the GlocK?
Old March 18, 2024, 06:44 PM   #3
chris in va

#2 is weird stuff, it's mainly for small calibers like 25acp or 32. It won't hurt a thing to drop to 3.9.
Old March 18, 2024, 06:46 PM   #4
74A95

It looks like the upper one was fired in a Glock, and the lower one was fired in a Beretta. These primers look normal otherwise.

Some guns leave a characteristic imprint on the fired primer because of the shape of their breech face around the firing pin hole, and not because they are over pressure.
Old March 18, 2024, 06:51 PM   #5
riverratt

Compare what you are getting with factory ammo. I have fired a few handguns that just simply leave funny markings on the primers, Glock being one of them.

From your picture, I do not see the primers flowing to fill the pocket this would be what we call a flattened primer, and is a good sign that you are getting up there im pressure.