The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 30, 2024, 05:29 PM   #1
Mike38

.38 Spcl Swaged HBWC

I'm fairly new to reloading Hollow base wad cutters. I started off with .32 S&W Long in a semi auto target pistol. I load these about 0.020 proud of the case mouth because they feed better, Speer 98 grain bullets and 1.4 grains of WST powder. Everything was working great, so I moved on to my .38 Spcl revolvers. I also loaded these 0.020 proud of the case mouth, just because. Speer 148 grain bullets and 2.0 grains of WST. Surprisingly accurate in both my Taurus and S&W revolvers. I'm guessing around 550fps. Very little leading in the Taurus and near zero leading in the S&W.

I switched to Precision Delta bullets for the .38 simply because they were way less costly than Speer. But this is where the trouble began. Precision Delta uses what they call "Match Lube". It is very thin, and you can hardly tell there is any lube at all. Now the Taurus leads badly. So bad that after 40-50 shots, it starts key holing at 15 yards. The S&W leads, but not as bad as the Taurus. I contacted Precision Delta and they gave me the canned answer of staying below 700fps, and how some revolvers have a less than perfect forcing cone and can lead with soft swagged bullets.

My question is this. Since I am only pushing these bullets at around 550fps, is it possible the pressure is not expanding the bullet's hollow base and I'm not getting a good seal, then the hot gasses are passing the bullet and cutting the lead giving me this leading problem? I loaded 50 rounds of these bullets with 2.5 grains of WST, and flush with the case mouth, which should bump the velocity up close to 650fps. This may be enough pressure to expand the hollow base and seal things better, I hope? I will find out this coming Friday evening. Am I on the right track, or am I chasing my tail? Your thoughts please. Thank you.