The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old December 27, 2002, 03:33 PM   #1
GunFool

AK or SKS for a newbie?

I am looking for a simpler, rugged alternative to the AR and Mini-14 style rifles. I have been considering the SKS because of its low cost, un-complicated operation and maintenance, and reputation as a tough, reliable rifle. I have no experience with AK style rifles but I have had other friends and shooters reccommend the AK as another possible alternative. I understand that both fire the same 7.62x39 cartridge with the AK having removeable magazines as opposed to a fixed internal. My questions are:

(1) How does the AK compare to the SKS in terms of ease of operation?

(2) How does the AK compare to the SKS in terms of cleaning and maintenance?

(3) In general, is teh AK design as tough and reliable as the SKS?

(4) Where can I find english AK manuals to download online?

Any help would be MUCH appreciated! Thanks!
Old December 27, 2002, 04:21 PM   #2
Zigokubasi

My vote is for the AK. It's a more modern design than the SKS, and about as reliable and efficient as semiautos get. Accuracy is going to be slightly worse than the SKS, more or less depending on the AK clone you get. In reference to your points:

1) Simpler, IMO. Rock the mag in, drop the safety, pull the charging handle, aim, fire, repeat 29 times.

2) Also simpler IMO, with the AK you just remove the mag, clear the chamber, push the rear tab in, pop off the dust cover, remove the recoil spring a guide rod, slide out the gas piston, bolt and carrier, and scrub away. It's easier than it sounds, actually.

3) *Ahem*...I would have to say it's more reliable than the SKS. AKs can take a serious beating and continue to function. Fill the receiver with dirt, pee on it, run it over, whatever. The only FTF I ever had was a dud round of cheap chinese ammo.

4) Try: http://www.gunmanuals.ch/manuals01.htm

Ziggy