The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old April 6, 2002, 07:54 PM   #1
KPS

My First AD

Well, I finally did it.I had an accidental discharge in my home tonight.I just bought a Walther P-99 and was showing my wife how the chamber loaded indicator works.We did not see the red and the extractor seemed to be flush with the gun.Instead of decocking the gun, I pulled the trigger and it took a couple of seconds to realize I just shot the gun off.The magazine was out but I did load the gun earlier today.I've been carrying 1911's for 2 years and have always triple checked my guns before handling them.I've always been one of those people who said it couldn't happen to me.I can only thank God that the round went into the door frame and was lodged somewhere inside the wall instead of shooting a neigbor, my wife of myself.
Old April 6, 2002, 08:00 PM   #2
lonegunman

It sounds like the loaded chamber indicator thing didnt tell you the truth.

Attempting to replace a brain with a mechanical device should seem like a bad idea to everyone, but lawyers and politicians seem to love it.

Quite interesting that this would happen with such a "modern" gun, dont you think?

Betcha never did that with your 1911....
Old April 6, 2002, 08:01 PM   #3
C.R.Sam

Bet your wife was impressed with your ND.

Glad it not worse. Serious thinkin time tho.

Sam
Old April 6, 2002, 08:02 PM   #4
Dave P

You are lucky! Is the wife gonna let you keep firearms in the house now?
Old April 6, 2002, 08:10 PM   #5
KPS