The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old August 4, 2005, 09:03 PM   #1
308Enfield

Knoxville CCW Classes

I'm finally making the move to get my Tennessee carry permit and obviously have to start with a CCW class. Does anybody have recommendations for a good class? I want a quality experience, obviously, but keep in mind that I'm a grad student and doing this on a budget. Thanks in advance for the help.
Old August 4, 2005, 10:02 PM   #2
22-rimfire

Just cruise out to Tamara's gun shop off Lovell Road (not the correct name) and they probably give the course there (just guessing) since they have an indoor range. If not, they will direct you to one locally and the cost runs about the same regardless of where its taken.
Old August 4, 2005, 10:45 PM   #3
308Enfield

"Tamara's gun shop off Lovell Road (not the correct name)"

Thanks for the input. I actually called Coal Creek Armory (the Lovell Rd. place) and they offer the classes on Saturdays with the exception, I think, of the third Saturday of each month. They're $85, though , which seems higher than what I've seen elsewhere. Nothing against Coal Creek, they stock good products and in my experience have good people working there, but a friend in Johnson City thinks I can get a course up there for around $40. $45 is a lot of ammo
Old August 4, 2005, 11:04 PM   #4
22-rimfire

Johnson City is a pretty good drive from Knoxville. You'll spend a third of what you saved on gas. Call Legends in Athens (423) 746-2321. They will also be able to direct you. If you have never visited Legends or Benton Shooter's Supply (in Benton TN), it is worth the trip to see all the guns and stuff. Very Very cool stores! Prices that I have run into have been in the $60 to $85 range typically.
Old August 5, 2005, 09:44 AM   #5
308Enfield