The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights > Legal and Political

Old May 7, 2007, 11:58 PM   #1
Wren

Obtaining an alien firearms license - WA State

Hello everyone,

I'm a relative newbie that's beginning to look into purchasing a handgun for home defense.

In researching concealed carry permits and the like, I realized that as a resident alien (Green card status), I would need an alien firearms license permit in order to own a firearm.

That looks like it could be a problem, however. I'm hoping some more experienced people on the board could clarify the following for me.

The WA state's Department of Licensing web site has a notice that reads:

"Special alert for alien firearms license applicants --
We are unable to issue alien firearms licenses at this time. The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) has told law enforcement agencies it is against federal law to use federal databases for background checks if the agencies share the results with a non-criminal justice agency such as the Department of Licensing. This means law enforcement agencies cannot perform the background checks required by state law for issuing an alien firearms license. Without these background checks, we cannot complete the application process or issue alien firearms licenses."

I've searched for more information on this, but have come up empty-handed.

Does this mean that I cannot obtain a permit? Is this situation permanent?

Thanks for any info you can share.
Old May 8, 2007, 10:38 AM   #2
MD_Willington

Correct, no ETA on when the DOL will be allowed to issue them.

I just called them BTW, and that is the information.

So I guess I make plans for storing elswhere at the end of the year... I probably will not have possession of them until I get my citizenship in 2010...

Hey look, gun controls works, they effectively disarmed 5 (Two Canadians and three Americans in my family) law abiding citizen by the end of the year...