The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old January 31, 2008, 12:38 PM   #1
Enron Exec

PTR-91 vs Armalite AR-10

Hey guys, i want to get into the 308 crowd and was wondering if some of you could breakdown the pros and cons to these 2 platforms.
Old January 31, 2008, 12:44 PM   #2
Scorch

The Armalite AR10 is a well-proven platform, very relaible and good shooters. PTR91s tend to be hit and miss: the good ones are very good, but the bad ones are very bad. I helped a guy at the range whose PTR91 was coming apart, literally. The good ones will shoot with the best HKs out there. The bad ones won't hardly cycle. I have heard from people who own PTR91s that some PTR91 receivers are not hardened and wear out very quickly, but I have no direct knowledge of that issue.

Make sure you get a lot of info from folks who own them before buying either one.
Old January 31, 2008, 12:58 PM   #3
shooter_john

If you ever plan to reload, you'd much appreciate the AR not mangling your brass like the PTR will. I have a DPMS LR-308, and had a CETME... I got rid of all of other semi auto 308's after I got the DPMS.

Last edited by shooter_john; January 31, 2008 at 02:17 PM. Reason: spelling
Old January 31, 2008, 02:02 PM   #4
SpikeHead

Scorch writes:
Quote:
I helped a guy at the range whose PTR91 was coming apart, literally.
Mine (SN 07XX) did this, too.