The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 27, 2008, 10:19 PM   #1
OUTLAW00

lightest bullet weight for 223 with 1-9 twist

I'm new to reloading and have started developing loads for my savage model 10 in 223 with a 1 in 9 inch twist. i know it is meant for shooting heavier bullets but, my question is what do yall think would be the lightest bullet i can use without the bullets being twisted apart or lack of accuracy
Old February 27, 2008, 10:50 PM   #2
somerled

There are some who get excellent results with 40 grain bullets in the 1-9" twist. I've never loaded anything less than 50 grains in mine, but that is solely because I have the heavier bullets on hand. Maybe some of the most fragile bullets pushed at the highest velocities obtainable in the .223 Remington may be unstable, but I wouldn't know without trying.

If I planned to shoot 35 or 40 grain .224 bullets in the .223 Remington exclusively, I'd get a barrel with a 1-12" or even a 1-14" twist. With a Savage, setting up a switch-barrel rig is certainly in reach.
Old February 27, 2008, 11:08 PM   #3
Go Kiwi

I load for an H&K SL8 with 1/7 twist - this shoots 50g vmax practically on top of each other with ADI Benchmark 1 (not BM), 40g & even 35g vmax still go ok. Interestingly I never have managed to get a decent 55g load in this rifle

Never had projectile explosion problems with b-tip or vmax, but then I dont push maximum velocity with an autoloader rifle!

You also cant expect your velocity to be near book with the fast twist bbl
Old February 28, 2008, 09:14 PM   #4
Toolman

+1 somerled. About 50gr is the lightest bullet I'd use with a 1:8/1:9 twist. For lighter bullets I'd go slower twist (1:12/1:14)
Old February 28, 2008, 10:30 PM   #5
4sarge

Experimented today with a few different loads.