The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 23, 2008, 08:38 PM   #1
Khaot1c

Lee Factory Crimp Die

I'm still new to the reloading scene using a Lee Classis 4-hole turret to make pistol rounds. I've started with 9mm and I spent a few extra bucks and got the Factory Crimp die.

I'm having issues getting a round to smoothly go into the Crimp die. Today the die even put a nice crease in the mouth of a round. I understand that there is probably suppoed to be a bit of preassure, but this is far beyond that. The brass is hanging up badly on the upstroke. I can see the RAM and the hole in the die aren't exactly aligned - and i'm curious how that can happen. The three other dies work great and there isn't an issue with a case or round going in. Any suggestions?
Old September 23, 2008, 08:48 PM   #2
murphjup

I have the same setup as you... I am new to reloading as well...

I would redo the setup instructions again... When I use that die there is hardly any pressure felt or really none at all, sounds to me that you have it screwed in too far...

I would re-adjust per the instructions from scratch and see how it goes...

Old September 23, 2008, 10:05 PM   #3
joneb

There are mixed feelings regarding the LFCD,
http://www.thehighroad.org/showthrea...highlight=LFCD
Old September 23, 2008, 11:44 PM   #4
tokarev762

I use it for the 30-30 and .223 and have never had any problems. I agree that you may need to review you directions on the setup. The die can be adjusted up and down to give as much, or as little, crimp that you would like.
Old September 24, 2008, 01:54 AM   #5
Khaot1c