The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 4, 2008, 03:59 PM   #1
Sturmgewehre

Review: Mastercast bullets

I recently ordered 1,000 bullets from Mike at Mastercast ([email protected]) after chatting with him here on TFL.

I was on the fence about ordering more bullets as I had just placed a large order with another vendor that I've used for years. But Mike shot me an estimate on the cost of the bullets and said "I'll just send them out to you, pay me when you get a chance". I thought, "what?"... I agreed. So the next day I sent him payment on his word that he mailed the bullets, which he did. They arrived this morning.

I've been shooting and reloading for many years. I'm one of those types of guys that gets into a groove and I don't like changing things. I used to compete in Cowboy Action Shooting (William Six Gunn) and had settled on Laser Cast bullets way back in the 1990's. They served me well and I have always had good results with them.

Lately I've been on the prowl to find lower cost bullets that are of the same or higher quality than the Laser Cast. My reason is that I'm trying to reduce the cost of shooting given the skyrocketing cost of ammo. I mostly shoot 1911's in .45 ACP so cost is on the upper end of the spectrum.

I've tried local casters and haven't been too impressed with the consistency or quality of the bullets. Most use scrap lead with an unknown content so they vary in weight and hardness. With that inconsistency comes inconsistent performance with your "pet" loads.

So, back to Mastercast bullets and Mike. I received my shipment of .45 ACP 200gr SWC bullets early this morning via USPS. I feel sorry for my poor mail lady, it had "32lbs!!!" written on the box by another postal employee. I took the box back to my loading room and began my inspection.