The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Closed Thread

Old March 13, 2009, 03:29 PM   #1
Littlehoov

Interesting Hi-Point jam.

Ive heard the reports of the jamming with either nose-up or nose-down typically caused by the magazines, but I shot my new C9 today and had a handful of jams that looked just like this:

All were cleared with either a tap on the back of the slide, or slightly pulling the slide back and releasing.

Im not reading much into it because the gun is new, so its my understanding that things like this do happen.

Some things I thought might be causing it were:

A: I was gripping pretty high, but its the only way it felt comfortable, but the slide did seem to contact my hands sometimes on its backstroke.

B: During most of the shooting I was wearing leather gloves, because it was cold outside, couple that with A and it makes it worse.

C: Im new to semi-auto pistols, so I might just be doing something wrong.
Old March 13, 2009, 03:33 PM   #2
DBAR

No Offense

No offense, but you bought a High Point.
Old March 13, 2009, 03:41 PM   #3
natjohnb

You're reading too much into the problem...you bought a Hi-point. The problem is easily fixed by selling it and buying something better
Old March 13, 2009, 04:02 PM   #4
Littlehoov

Well, thank you both for your wonderful advice, I really appreciate it.
Old March 13, 2009, 04:19 PM   #5
DBAR

You might search the web, and see if there is a forum dedicated to the "High Point".
Old March 13, 2009, 04:25 PM   #6
troy_mclure

greybeardoutdoors.com has a good highpoint forum.
what brand of ammo were you using?
There is only one tactical principle which is not subject to change. It is to use the means at hand to inflict the maximum amount of wound, death, and destruction on the enemy in the minimum amount of time."
Old March 13, 2009, 04:36 PM   #7
ElectricHellfire