The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 5, 2010, 04:36 PM   #1
jambrdly

Armscor .223 62 gr loads for mini-14?

Can anyone recommend an accurate load recipe for the Armscor 62 gr .224 bullet in a mini-14 .223?
Old June 5, 2010, 04:59 PM   #2
snuffy

You're kidding,,,---right? First strike is accurate load in mini-30, second strike is armscoor bullets.

I have a bushmaster AR that is capable of sub MOA accuracy with a good bullet. I tried some of the armscoor bullets recently. They were awful! Looked like a shotgun buckshot pattern, rather than a group!

You'd better get some good bullets, that would be half the battle. The rest, the mini-thutty, well there's no cure for those things!
Old June 6, 2010, 08:00 PM   #3
riverwalker76

Quote:
You're kidding,,,---right? First strike is accurate load in mini-30, second strike is armscoor bullets.

I have a bushmaster AR that is capable of sub MOA accuracy with a good bullet. I tried some of the armscoor bullets recently. They were awful! Looked like a shotgun buckshot pattern, rather than a group!

You'd better get some good bullets, that would be half the battle. The rest, the mini-thutty, well there's no cure for those things!

Don't listen to him ..... there are a lot of naysayers on the Mini-14 and I choose to ignore them. Most people have either never owned a mini-14 or owned one 10 years ago when their rifles were horrible with accuracy.

If he would have read your post ... he would see you are loading for the mini-14 ... not the mini-30!