The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old July 16, 2007, 05:48 PM   #1
Clayton

Lubricant Tests

Okay...I am assembling as many types of popular lubricants and CLP's as I can to do some unscientific testing.

I will be testing rust prevention, functionality on various types of firearms, ease of use, and lots of other things.

Rust tests are pretty straightforward, but a lot of other things I want to test are subjective, and therefore YMMV alot. FWIW, I have been shooting and cleaning firearms for over twenty years, with a few years of doing so on a more professional level. I have done lots of these kinds of tests for myself and others, and so I am a victim of my own experience, but as Kelly McCann says, at least I have some.

As soon as I figure out my wife's camera and the whole picture posting thing I will load as many as I can to help folks see the various test results. A picture is worth a thousand words and all that...

So far I have twenty products here, and three more on order, including Weapon Shield CLP. As soon as all has arrived, the testing will commence.

Any questions, comments, or suggestions, please E-mail or PM me.

Thanks,

Clay
Old July 16, 2007, 06:37 PM   #2
Clayton

Products being tested:

Hoppes Elite Gun Oil - the same product as Mpro7 oil. Very popular among the tree hugging environmentalist gun lovers.

Rem Oil - ye old standby, and a favorite of noted author and instructor Chuck Taylor.

Break-Free CLP - used by the armies of more countries than all other products combined. Been issued to U.S. military troops since 1979.

G96 Gun Treatment - Been around a coon's age. Very popular on the east coast, and used by several police departments there. Tested and approved by the RCMP.

Tetra Gun oil, grease, and spray - very popular PTFE-based products.

Militec-1 - probably the most popular lubricant by folks on the net, and lots of troops are using it right now in Iraq and Afghanistan.