The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old November 7, 2008, 08:12 PM   #1
Abaddon

CVA Bobcat in pawnshop - how to check out

Hi,

I'm new to muzzleloading and am considering a used CVA Bobcat. I found two of them in two separate pawnshops and wanted your advise on how to check them out to make sure they haven't been mistreated by a previous owner. I started another thread with random questions about muzzleloading right here http://www.thefiringline.com/forums/...30#post3117430

I'll be using it for blacktail in WA state.

Rifle #1 is priced at $150. It is missing the ramrod (the previous owner seemed to think a wood dowel could substitute). It has fully adjustable sights and a wood stock.

Rifle #2 is priced at $180 and has a synthetic stock. I would prefer a wood stock.

I just bought a drop-in barrel light, so I can check for pitting and rust inside the barrel. Is there anything else I should check for? Should I check anything around the nipple, like that it's not rusted in place? Are the prices good for this? I think that in both cases I can talk them down a bit, especially the one with the dowel instead of a ramrod.

Also, I read somewhere that CVA had to recall some of their guns because of exploding barrels. Is that a danger with a Bobcat? Does anyone know how to check if it was a recall one?

Thanks for all the help

Last edited by Abaddon; November 7, 2008 at 08:26 PM. Reason: wanted to ask about barrel recalls and add link to other thread.
Old November 7, 2008, 08:26 PM   #2
Pahoo