The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old October 10, 2009, 07:02 PM   #1
gunney 67

glock 45 acp blow-ups

A couple of years ago the Portland Police Bureau had two issue Glock 45's blow up on the range. As a result, they changed back to Beretta 9mm's as dept issue. I never heard if they ever determined what caused the guns to blow up. Anyone have any updates?
Old October 10, 2009, 07:49 PM   #2
JohnKSa
Staff

Do you have information to support the claim that they switched to another firearm brand?

The last I heard they had switched to a different caliber but were still using Glocks.
Old October 10, 2009, 11:17 PM   #3
duo02

I am a portland oregon resident and my father a former portland police officer. The police switched from their G17's to the G21 and two officers were injured during training and they switched back to the G17. There are many articles out there with more information pertaining to this. http://www.accessnorthga.com/detail.php?n=174365
Old October 11, 2009, 10:17 AM   #4
Alleykat

Portland PD, in its infinite wisdom, refused to let Glock/Smyrna examine the G21s in question, even when Glock offered to fly Portland PD's so-called in-house "expert(s)" to Glock/Smyrna to witness the examination.

Bad ammo, plain and simple, confirmed by White Labs.

This is the same Portland PD that opted out of the Terrorism Taskforce.

I've fired tens of thousands of rounds of my reloads through G21s. If there were a systemic design problem, I'd have found it by now.
Old October 11, 2009, 10:31 AM   #5
Walt Sherrill

Someone already said bad ammo, confirmed in tests, but that would have been my guess.

A local University's police had a similar episode with Berettas -- the ammo maker made it all good, since nobody was badly hurt. (Some "stung" hands.)
Old October 11, 2009, 11:45 AM   #6
madmag