The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old January 15, 2000, 06:59 PM   #1
GreenDragon

I've been thinking of pursuing some kind of training in hand to hand combat for self defense. Are there any courses (preferably southern PA of a class) or any martial arts in particular. So far judo seems to be the best one to know (I think I read something to that effect once before). There is someone in the area who teaches some bizarre self-defense class in the area who trains local cops. Would an alternative style such as this be a good idea?
thanks
josh
Old January 15, 2000, 10:11 PM   #2
swatman

Hello Green Dragon,
I also am from Pa. I have taken kickboxing, boxing, and Karate. I studied the kickboxing and karate with Terry Nye for quite awhile.
He definately teaches some realistic self-defense tactics also and found it very helpful. There are pro's and cons to each style. Karate is something that generally takes much longer to master. While boxing is more of the type of style you may well encounter on the street so even if you decide not to take it up, you should definately have an understanding of it.
If you have the opportunity to take classes as your local law enforcement that may be one of your best bets since they are tought proper grappling techniques and and weapon retention, etc. where is that located? I may be interested in that place myself
There is also a good place just South of Reading called Red Dragon Karate which has courses in a wide Variety of combat styles including weapons training.
Good luck

------------------
"what gives a government that arms the whole world the right to disarm it's own citizens?"
Old January 16, 2000, 10:30 AM   #3
Adam