The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old October 5, 2005, 11:42 PM   #1
cdc

First shotgun/Slug experience and Knoxx SpecOps Review - fairly long

I must first pre-frame this review of the Remington 870 I put together and the Knoxx SpecOps stock. I am use to handguns (mainly semi-autos) and this is the first time I have fired a shotgun. I have learned much from this forum, hopefully I can give back some useful info. Alrighty, I have been building this 870 tactical shotgun for about 2 months and finally got to shoot it. I shot 42 slugs across 2 hours through the bad boy and called it a day. I started to get tired and the range was closing soon. By the way, at this range I can only shoot slugs at still targets. For a frame of reference I am 38 yrs old, 5'-11" and 160lbs, not a big guy. Here is the 870 shotty:

Breakdown of the 870: Remington 870 Express Magnum, 18" ported VangComp (VCS) Smoothbore - fixed Imp. Cyl. Choke barrel., ATN Ultra Digital Reflex Sight (I think I am going to replace with an Eotech), Leopold QI weaver mount, Trigger job with about 3.5 - 4 pound pull, TacStar two round extension and mag/barrel clamp, Knoxx SpecOps stock with a Limbsaver recoil pad installed. Hogue overmolded tactical forend and Hogue handall grip on the SpecOps stock. I did also work on the action and installed a VangComp SS mag follower.