The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 2, 2006, 12:50 PM   #1
Monkey

Small Primer .45 ACP???

Howdy all,

I've been reloading for only about 1 week now (I'm hooked!) I'm already saving about $.03/round in .45 ACP over WWB at Wallyworld. I hope to get that savings to grow by buying components in bulk.

Here's the deal: I've been saving brass (mine and range pick-ups) for several years, knowing that I would be reloading someday. Upon sorting them for headstamp I discovered that some have a small primer. They are all headstamped "WIN NT 45 AUTO".

Is this something that you guys deal with on a regular basis? Are they worth reloading?

I have a Dillon RL 550B. So far I'm setup only for .45 ACP. In the future, I'll also be loading .44 mag, .303 British, .32 ACP, and who knows what else.

Any comments on the above would be much appreciated.
Old February 2, 2006, 01:18 PM   #2
T- Bone

There are some people on here who say they've reloaded it, but I think winchester doesn't recommend it. I don't know why, though.
Old February 2, 2006, 03:24 PM   #3
azredhawk44

Monkey - are they small rifle primer holes?

I am asking purely out of selfish interest. I shoot .400corbon out of my glock21 and those cartridges use a small rifle primer rather than the typical large pistol primer.

(400corbon is a 45acp necked to .40 diameter)

If you don't want to deal with them, PM me. I will pay you for shipping and a reasonable price for range brass if they are indeed small rifle primed .45acp that I can re-size to .400corbon. Let me know how much you have.
Old February 2, 2006, 04:00 PM   #4
Monkey

azredhawk44,

I believe they are small pistol, but I don't know how to tell the difference between small pistol and small rifle.