The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Closed Thread

Old October 11, 2006, 01:58 AM   #1
User14

Technology and personalization

I work in the computer field, where the game changes every few years. Quite different from the land of the 1911 and AK47, indeed. Glock and others have certainly updated the old designs. However, I think we'll see some truly innovative stuff coming up soon.

The military tends to get the fun stuff before civilians. However, one issue seems ripe for ready civilian use. This is the personalized gun. Getting shot with your own pistol is a nightmare scenario for anyone. HP recently revealed a "Memory Spot" chip which can be implanted in the finger. The unique signature would identify you immediately. Don't worry about being shot because it identifies you mistakenly, however--it has to be a millimeter away to work.

I'm new here, but I hope I am interesting. I don't hunt, but am very interested in all aspects of tactics. I think computers and technology should be applied as soon as possible to advance better self-defense.
Old October 11, 2006, 10:02 AM   #2
MEDDAC19

I don't like the idea of a memory chip that only allows one person to fire a gun. What if you have your personalized pistol and are no longer able to defend yourself, your wife or a bystander now picks up your gun to help and the thing won't work. This could also work the other way around, you would be unable to pick up someone elses gun and help.

If you have multiple guns how many chips are you going to let someone put in you? I guess you would need to put compatible chips in everyone that lives with you for all the guns that you might need to defend yourself or your loved ones.

And I guess I need to put this in for all the conspiracy folks, can the government track you with all the chips you will need to fire all your guns?
Old October 11, 2006, 10:10 AM   #3
Majic