The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old September 23, 2007, 07:26 PM   #1
tex45acp

BHP Wont Fire After First Shot Is Fired

Well guys,

I have been working in guns for over 20 years and consider myself a good gun mechanic/smith. I have built a 1911 from bare parts and modified several revolvers. Today I ran into a problem that I can't seem to get a handle on. I recently bought a 77' model BHP, that shot fine, but I wanted to make some changes to fit my liking. I purchased several parts from Cylinder & Slide, a company I have bought parts from many times before. The replacement parts included a Drop In Trigger Pull Set, Wide Trigger and a set of nice wood grips. I installed the parts and on my first outing ran into something that really baffles me. The first shot goes off fine and the gun cycles perfectly, but I cannot pull the trigger and make the gun go off a second shot. If I gently pull the slide to the rear about 1/8" and release it then pull the trigger, the gun goes off again, but also again locks up, a simple rear nudge releases whatever is causing the problem. I tore the gun apart double checking everything and it is all correctly installed. I did find one thing, the spring under the sear lever is not there. Whe pressing the lever there is no resistance and the lever will stay down on the side pushed. Everywhere I have read, the BHP was designed to operate without that spring. If that is the case, what could be causing it to do this. I dimensionally checked the replacement parts and they match the originals. Any help would be appreciated.

tex
Old September 23, 2007, 07:32 PM   #2
Jim Watson

Never heard of such a thing, although the modification that calls for drilling a new sear lever pivot pin hole through the slide can screw the gun up.

Still got the original parts?
You could try swapping Browning and aftermarket stuff around to isolate the bad actor.
Old September 23, 2007, 07:38 PM   #3
tex45acp