The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

View Poll Results: Best combat caliber?
.357 mag 14 16.47%
9mm 23 27.06%
.44 mag 4 4.71%
.45 acp 51 60.00%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 85. You may not vote on this poll

Old February 25, 2009, 05:37 AM   #1
.408cheytac

Best combat handgun caliber in existence?

Hey guys, I'm not a gun expert like most of you guys but I would like to know which is the best combat handgun in the world?

The parameters are:
a)it can be a pistol or revolver
b)it should be semi auto or auto
c)can include military or civilian caliber
d)it should function with JHP and FMJ rounds
e)cost and availability is not a consideration
f) it is meant for a holster so need not be concealable
g)the gun should be reliable(from personal experience only, that is please don't tell that the gun was around for 96 years so it must be reliable).
h) expected for 10 to 25 yard range
i)considering the user is average size (5ft 10 inches medium built with availability to practice around 7 hrs a week.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by JohnKSa; February 26, 2009 at 12:55 AM. Reason: Rule 4.
Old February 25, 2009, 05:54 AM   #2
nate45

Oh noes, here we go again, it seems like just yesterday we were discussing this, oh wait it was yesterday.

Well, for starters you left out the .40 S&W and 10 MM and a few others, but it doesn't really matter cause there is no best.

There is no "one better defense caliber". One type of pistol/cartridge combination may be better for you than the others. The best person to make that decision is you .- so sayeth the nate

Last edited by nate45; February 25, 2009 at 06:07 AM. Reason: sp
Old February 25, 2009, 05:59 AM   #3
evan1293

Liberator .45
Old February 25, 2009, 07:00 AM   #4
.408cheytac

Yeah, you might be right about the "best".