The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old January 19, 2001, 08:04 PM   #1
Apple a Day

I was pondering the question of hollowpoints when a thought occurred to me: Why not just make a handgun with a larger diameter bore?
Now, I do NOT suggest a proportional increase in powder charge since that would be more than the vast majority of people could reasonably handle. How about a new cartridge developed -after study- with enough gusto to penetrate through a human body from most angles and not much more than that. I know there are a ton of variables associated with that and I am not an expert but I am sure an expert could come up with something reasonable.
For those 1911 aficionados who want a 50% expansion from their hollow points, why not just use a .75 caliber? For those with a 9mm why not a .54 caliber? The larger diameter would increase drag but would that really make that big of a difference since most self defense shootings occur at such short ranges?
On the downside the weight would increase, I suppose, but can be cut elsewhere with the use of composites. The size of the cartridges would cut down on the magazine capacity (assuming a self-loader) but at the moment we aren't allowed more than 10 anyway.
So, would a larger bore handgun make a better self defense/house gun? Help me out. What have I not thought of?
Old January 19, 2001, 08:16 PM   #2
sw627pc

Well that is pretty much the design concept of the .45 ACP round. As far as going bigger, remember that anything over .50 caliber gets you into big headaches with the Federal government.
Old January 19, 2001, 08:28 PM   #3
RANash

You must take the laws of physics into account. The bigger the caliber of the bullet, the slower it will go, unless you compensate for that with a greater charge. The greater the charge, the stronger and heaver the gun will need to be. Eventually, it is too big to carry well, or to shoot well.