The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old December 19, 2001, 06:32 PM   #1
ATTICUS

I accidently shot myself last night.

There....I said it. I had to tell everyone else today, so I thought I'd share here as well. Maybe someone else will be a little safer because of it. I'm not sure what happened really. Was dry firing my new G30 and while lost in (fatigued) thought, popped in a loaded mag, and kaboom. Took a Speer Gold dot through the hand and ended up having my pinky amputated. Not sure yet if my ring finger will recover completely, but it looks promising. Damn,damn,damn.....I feel really stupid....but lucky. The bullet went through me, hit some magazines on my workbench, destroyed a can of WD40, and finally dropped on the bench in front of me. Ive been handling guns for over 30 years but got careless or stupid or both. Well the meds are kicking in, better rest for a bit. Be careful!!
Old December 19, 2001, 06:34 PM   #2
Shin-Tao

Wow.
Old December 19, 2001, 06:39 PM   #3
capbuster

Sorry to hear that. I hope your recovery is swift. Take care.
Old December 19, 2001, 06:47 PM   #4
4V50 Gary
Staff

We wish you a speedy recovery and an accident free 2002.
Old December 19, 2001, 06:48 PM   #5
Tamara
Moderator Emeritus

Ouch!

Sorry to hear that.

Hope your recovery is speedy!
Old December 19, 2001, 07:01 PM   #6
Hemicuda

just goes to show that it can happen to ANY of us...

you will remember gun safety for forever and a day now!

gun and car collector.
Rare cars, and rarer guns.
Old December 19, 2001, 07:03 PM   #7
Denny Hansen
Staff Emeritus

Hope you have a full recovery on your ring finger--and thanks for posting even though it must have been awkward for you. This will (or should) serve as a reminder to all of us to be more careful.