The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old November 21, 2021, 10:01 PM   #1
AlongCameJones

What kind of sling did Kyle Rittenhouse have?

That type of sling kept his body tied to the weapon so it couldn't be pulled away. I was an American soldier for 7 years. My M16's were issued with standard mil-spec slings that could not be wrapped around the body like that and still allow the rifle to be shouldered and fired.

This video is a very good lesson in defensive weapons training and tactics from the real-world streets in America. Law enforcement and the military could learn some pointers from this even. I would want a sling setup like Kyle's if I were to carry such a weapon in a tactical scenario as that.

A Smith & Wesson M&P15 chambered in .223 is the gun Mr. Rittenhouse had during the defensive shooting situation in Wisconsin. It looks like a carbine with maybe a 16" barrel. A clone of the Colt M-4 Carbine maybe.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iryQSpxSlrg
Attached Images
File Type: jpg kyle rittenhouse.jpg (34.2 KB, 96 views)

Last edited by JohnKSa; November 21, 2021 at 11:45 PM. Reason: Removed off topic commentary.
Old November 22, 2021, 01:19 AM   #2
Hawg

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlongCameJones View Post
A Smith & Wesson M&P15 chambered in .223 is the gun Mr. Rittenhouse had
5.56/.223
Old November 22, 2021, 01:52 AM   #3
AlongCameJones

Thanks for caliber correction. I'd really like to learn more about that sling setup. It makes the gun so secure on the wearer's body.

What do folks here think about this sling set-up for AR rifles?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xIrKd5O5XFs

The idea is to keep your AR secure to your body while manuevering fast and assuming any of a myriad of field positions to fire defensively. Mr. Rittenhouse was seated on his butt and even lying on his back while hastily handling his rifle in a bad situation.