The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old November 15, 1998, 11:08 AM   #1
Dan

This forum seems to have a wide variety of shooters with differing backgrounds and experience levels, but everyone who posts has valid and intelligent opinions.

Now, I would like to hear from Glock shooters who have actually had a KB, and what the cause of it was.

I have posted this because of all the hearsay Glock KB stories shooters seem to have. You know, my uncles best freinds son's Glock just blew up when he pulled the trigger....

If it happened to YOU lets hear about it.

Thanks,
Dan
Old November 15, 1998, 04:00 PM   #2
motorep

MarkCo,who is on this list, had a barrel replaced by Glock. I'm not sure if it KaBoomed, but it was bulged. I'll email him and see if he'll enlighten us.
Old November 16, 1998, 10:06 AM   #3
MarkCO

This post might make some people mad, but that is okay. Here goes. First, I work as a forensics engineer (mechanical) and, professionally, I investigate failed products as an expert witness. I have conducted extensive testing on the issue of KBs in Glocks and especially the Lead issue. I have examined 14 blown Glocks to date (including one of my own). I have tested thousands of rounds in Glock barrels, aftermarket barrels and polygonally rifled pressure barrels. There are several factors at issue with Glock KBs. When related to the .40 it is a high pressure round and hot-rodding it will cause damage and injury. Heavier bullets are more likely to increase pressure due to reloading practices and quitre possibly handling of loaded ammo. Also the polygonally rifled (Glock) barrels do lead excessively causing increased pressure. I have conducted pressure testing with instrumentation and the pressure ramps up with each successive round of lead down the barrel. Lowering your velocity can actually increase the leading rate with some bullets. The laser Cast is not the answer either. It too leads,